Wednesday, September 10, 2008

In the Shadow of Lions by Ginger Garrett

Good news for historical fans--I'm giving away a copy of In the Shadow of Lions by Ginger Garrett. Read on for the information you'll need to answer the question at the end and qualify for a chance at a copy of this lovely book.

ABOUT THE BOOK:

"I am the first writer, The Scribe. My books lie open before the Throne, and someday will be the only witness of your people and their time in this world."

So begins the narration of one such angel in this sweeping historical tale set during the reign of England's Henry VIII. It is the story of two women, their guardian angels, and a mysterious, subversive book ... a book that outrages some, inspires others, and launches the Protestant Reformation.

The devout Anne Boleyn catches the eye of a powerful king and uses her influence to champion an English translation of the Bible. Meanwhile, Rose, a broken, suicidal woman of the streets, is moved to seek God when she witnesses Thomas More's public displays of Christian charity, ignorant of his secret life spent eradicating the Bible, persecuting anyone who dares read it.

Historic figures come alive in this thrilling story of heroes and villains, saints and sinners, angels and mortals ... and the sacred book that will inspire you anew. Fans of Francine Rivers and Karen Kingsbury will love Ginger's intriguing combination of rich character development, artful settings, and inspiring historical insights.

If you would like to read an excerpt from In The Shadow Of Lions, go HERE

BUY IT NOW! http://www.amazon.com/exec/obidos/ASIN/0781448875

ABOUT THE AUTHOR:

Ginger Garrett is the critically acclaimed author of Chosen: The Lost Diaries of Queen Esther, which was recognized as one of the top five novels of 2006 by the ECPA, and Dark Hour. An expert in ancient women's history, Ginger creates novels and nonfiction resources that explore the lives of historical women.

Her newest release is Beauty Secrets of the Bible, (September 11, Thomas Nelson) based on the historical research that began in her work on Chosen. The book explores the connections between beauty and spirituality, offering women both historical insights and scientific proofs that reveal powerful, natural beauty secrets.

A frequent radio guest on stations across the country, including NPR and Billy Graham's The Hour of Decision, Ginger is also a popular television guest. Her appearances include Harvest Television, Friends & Neighbors, and Babbie's House. Ginger frequently serves as a co-host on the inspirational cable program Deeper Living. In 2007, Ginger was nominated for the Georgia Author of the Year Award for her novel Dark Hour.

When she's not writing, you may spy Ginger hunting for vintage jewelry at thrift stores, running (slowly) in 5k and 10k races, or just trying to chase down one of her errant sheepdogs. A native Texan, she now resides in Georgia with her husband and three children.

DRAWING QUESTION: What is the name of the street woman in the featured book? Reply with the answer and contact information, and your name will be in the hat for a chance at the book!

12 comments:

smilinkyn said...

Good morning!
The answer is : Rose (I hope!)
Please enter my name in the drawing. Thanks & God Bless!
Kyndra
smile_y9[at]yahoo[dot]com

ForstRose said...

The street woman in Ginger's book is Rose.

Melissa
forest_rose[at]yahoo[dot]com

ladystorm said...

Oh I would so love this book I am a huge history fan and this book sounds interesting. The street lady's name is Rose.

Thanks,
Stormi
ladystorm282001[at]yahoo[dot]com

Martha A. said...

The street woman's name is Rose.....
martha(at)lclink(dot)com

luv2read said...

tHE street woman is Rose. Enter me in the drawing. I've been wanting this book.
spowell01(at)bellsouth(dot)net

Lucie said...

The name of the street woman is: Rose
Please enter me into this drawing. Sounds like the kind of book that I love to read! Thank you for your interview.

Blessings,
Lucie

LucieInCA [at] aol [dot] com

Jennifer Hudson Taylor said...

The woman's name is Rose. Please enter me. jt4novels@yahoo.com.

Cheryl said...

The woman's name is Rose. Please enter me in the drawing. It sounds like a great book. My email address is shryackmom[@]charter[.]net

Carly said...

I belieeeeeve the answer is rose. Please enter me for the book drawing. Historical fiction is great!

fecarly1 at yahoo dot com

Lia said...

I love historical fiction! Thanks soooo much for the chance to win it. It's really hard to find good books, and this one looks great!
liatheddrfreak (at) gmail (dot) com

P.S. I almost forgot to say tha answer! Which is *shhhhh* ROSE! I think... From what I read she is "Rose, a broken, suicidal woman of the streets" =D

Doreen said...

The woman's name is Rose! Please count me in for this drawing. Thanks! purposedrivenlife4you(at)gmail(dot)com

Jill said...

Congratulations to Jennifer Hudson Taylor! She is the winner of Ginger's book. Thanks for entering everyone. I'll have more giveaways on this blog.